Colorado Motorcycle Insurance

All drivers in the state of Colorado, including motorcyclists, are required to carry liability insurance. Motorcyclists must carry the following liability insurance:

  • $25,000―per person for bodily injury
  • $50,000―per accident for bodily injury
  • $15,000―per accident for property damage

According to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), motorcyclists must also carry med-pay coverage, which pays for medical expenses incurred after an accident.

Wearing a helmet will not qualify you for any insurance discounts. However, ALL motorcycle and motorized bicycle riders and passengers younger than 18 must wear helmets.

Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility

Even though law officials can access your insurance information via a statewide database system, you still must show proof of coverage at all times by carrying one of the following while riding:

  • A certificate of self-insurance or
  • An insurance identification card

Riding a bike with no proof of insurance will net you the following penalties:

First offense:

Second offense:

  • A minimum fine of $1,000.
  • A four-month suspension.

Third offense:

  • A minimum fine of $1,000.
  • Community service.
  • An eight-month suspension.

If you need help understanding the coverage you have and want to make sure you’re protected should you be involved in an accident, give us a call. Our Colorado motorcycle accident lawyers can answer any questions you have about your policy.

Click here for a free Motorcycle Accident Lawyer initial consultation form or call toll free (877) 846-4878 for a free consultation with an experienced Colorado motorcycle accident lawyer today or click here for a consultation form. We’ve been protecting individuals’ rights in Colorado for almost 40 years and we can help you, too. The initial consultation is free, and you won’t owe us any fee until we collect money for you.