Colorado Auto Insurance
It’s very important to notify your insurance company as soon as possible following an accident. It can be time-consuming, but it is a requirement of your contract of insurance to report the accident. After an auto accident, you should not talk to the agent for the other person’s insurance company or sign anything without talking to a McDivitt Law Firm attorney first. Our auto accident lawyers are always available.
Types of Auto Insurance Coverage
There are different types of auto insurance coverage available in Colorado, and some of these are required by state law in order to drive a vehicle. They include:
You are required to have minimum liability insurance in the amount of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. This means that if you are the one who was at fault in causing an accident resulting in injuries, your insurance company will be able to pay at least $25,000 of the damages and injuries you may have caused to the other party.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Insurance
You have the option to buy insurance coverage to pay for your damages and losses caused by someone else who has no liability insurance, or has too little insurance to compensate you for all of your damages and losses.
This coverage is not very expensive, but is only available if you have purchased legally required liability insurance. Ask your insurance agent to tell you about uninsured/underinsured coverage as it is well worth having. Research shows that over 40% of drivers have no insurance coverage, even though it is required by law. IIf you are injured by one of these uninsured drivers, you may
still be able to get compensation for your injuries with uninsured/underinsured coverage.
This insurance pays for medical bills for you and passengers of your vehicle, even if you are at fault. Click on the following to learn more about
auto accident damage claims.
If you have been injured in a car accident, call the experienced auto accident lawyers at McDivitt Law Firm, day or night, toll free, at (877) 846-4878. Click here for an initial consultation form. Your initial consultation is free, and if we take your case, you won’t pay anything out of your pocket. You will pay no fee until we get money for you.
From the Auto Accident Blog
Browse the latest news & articles from the McDivitt Legal Team
Can Pre-Existing Injury Affect Auto Accident Claim?|
If you’ve been injured in a car crash, your recovery should be of the utmost importance to you. You may not think that your prior medical history (or injuries)…Read More
How Long Do Auto Accident Claims Take?|
From the very moment you are injured in a car accident, the clock begins. In Colorado, you may have as little as 180 days to file a claim against the at-fault d…Read More
What Happens If You Are Injured by an Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist?|
Being involved in a car accident can be a traumatic experience – even if the accident isn’t serious. You may be recovering from injuries, unable to work during…Read More