June 26, 2013
Several changes were recently implemented to the way Colorado Workers’ Compensation Claims are processed. Officials hope the changes will lead to claimants receiving faster decisions being made on claims, which will lead to a quicker reimbursement for losses.
A press release from the Colorado Department of Labor & Employment explained how Senate Bill 13-249 states that beginning on Aug. 7, 2013, the state’s Division of Workers’ Compensation must review the Division Independent Medical Examiners’ reports within five days of receiving them.
They must then issue a notification to the claimant and their physicians of any missing information or corrections that are needed. If corrections or a response are not received within the next 20 days, insurers are allowed to take action. However, their timeframe has been shortened as well.
Insurance companies will now have 20 days, instead of the current 30, to make a decision whether they will pay a claim or not. If they do decide to offer an injured worker payment, the insurance company is also required to issue full reimbursement to the victim for what they spent on treatment. If that amount exceeds the fee schedule, the insurer will need to seek reimbursement from the medical provider.
The Colorado Personal Injury Attorneys with McDivitt Law Firm recognize how complex the workers’ compensation system can be. The firm suggests consulting with an attorney to answer any questions you may have and to ensure you receive all the benefits you are entitled to.