The Wall Street Journal recently wrote an article on a medical device that is causing injuries to unsuspecting women and the FDA’s quick response, historically, to approve these devices. The device—a morcellator—could be the reason behind some women developing advanced stage cancer and an aggressive uterine cancer.
The end of February brought plenty of needed snow to Colorado and kept many of us inside. However, while the snowfall always looks beautiful, it brings with it dangerous and slick road conditions. The Team at McDivitt Law Firm wants to remind you to be safe out on the snowy roads and to remember to… Read more »
Colorado recently put into place new laws to help protect our state’s aging population. The tragedy of elder abuse is on the rise in the United States as the American population continues to age. Baby Boomers are turning 65 at a rate of one every ten seconds. In order to protect this population, Colorado, as of July 2014, put into place mandatory reporting laws. These laws ensure that those in the elder community are safe and cared for by requiring certain identified individuals to report any observations or reasonable suspicions of abuse of an at-risk elder to the proper authorities within 24 hours. Elder abuse can include physical abuse, sexual abuse, caretaker neglect, and exploitation of a person 70 years of age or older.
When we think about dangerous drivers we often think about drunk, high, or angry drivers. But are they the only potentially unsafe drivers on the road? We don’t think about the risk of someone getting behind the wheel and having a seizure or other medical emergency, but unfortunately it can happen. The ramifications of that can be just as serious as a drunk driver. However, the difference is that an individual makes the decision to get behind the wheel after drinking putting others at risk, and one doesn’t necessarily get behind the wheel expecting a medical problem and losing control of his or her car.
Did you know every 53 minutes someone is killed in a drunk driving crash? According to MADD, every two minutes someone is injured in a car accident due to drunk driving. In 2011, 9,878 people died in an auto accident due to alcohol. In 2012, Colorado had 133 fatalities, or 28% of traffic related deaths, caused by drunk driving. These numbers are sobering, and illustrate the alarming possibility of getting in an accident with a drunk driver. So what can you do?
According to the Associated Press, the Social Security Administration is giving a tax respite again this year. That is, those individuals who owe on old debts to the Social Security Administration will not have their tax refunds seized to repay those debts.
This January, our country’s auto safety agency fined Honda $70 million—the largest civil fine imposed against an automaker. The reason: for Honda not reporting to regulators over 1,700 complaints that its vehicles caused death and injuries, and for not reporting warranty and other claims as required by the TREAD Act.
Last month, in a Home Depot parking lot in Thornton, CO, a man was shot in the head by another. Why? Apparently, an act of road rage that turned violent. Unfortunately, such extreme cases of road rage occur, and it’s alarming. We should all be vigilant in understanding road rage and what to do when faced with an aggressive driver to mitigate these circumstances. No one wants their daily drive home to turn dangerous or deadly.
You’ve probably heard of ridesharing apps, such as Uber® or Lyft®; however, you’re probably not aware that Colorado is the first state in the country to legislatively authorize ridesharing companies. Ridesharing companies, or transportation network companies (TNCs), are becoming increasingly popular. The apps often provide cheaper means of transportation than a taxi by matching up a driver with a passenger in a local city.
Recently we wrote a blog post discussing the Ski Safety Act in Colorado (link), which applies to both skiers and snowboarders. In the article we mentioned that skiers and snowboarders have certain responsibilities under the law while out on the slopes. Unfortunately, not everyone who is skiing or snowboarding follows those duties.